NHEH Publications

Minimum Wage Hike Coming for Exempt Employees

Even though the new administration has put a hold on the federal increase in minimum salary levels for exempt employees, California employers will still be required to boost the salaries of exempt employees on January 1, 2018. 

Under California law an employee must earn a monthly salary equivalent to no less than two times the state minimum wage for fulltime employment (employment in which an employee is employed for 40 hours per week). Different rates apply, depending on whether an employer has 26 or more, or 25 or fewer, employees.

26 or More Employees

2017

2018

Annual

$43,680

$45,760

Monthly

$3,640

$3,813.34

Semi-Monthly

$1,820

$1,906.67

Bi-Weekly

$1,680

$1,760

Weekly

$840

$880

25 or Fewer Employees

2017

2018

Annual

$41,600

$43,680

Monthly

$3,466.67

$3,640

Semi-Monthly

$1,733.34

$1,820

Bi-Weekly

$1,600

$1,680

Weekly

$800

$840

 

This article is intended to address topics of general interest and should not be construed as legal advice. 
© 2017 Noland, Hamerly, Etienne & Hoss, Terry O'Connor